PPCF/EPS/IUPAP Student Poster Prizes

PPCF/EPS/IUPAP Student Poster Prize

The international journal Plasma Physics and Controlled Fusion (PPCF), the European Physical Society (EPS) and the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics are proud to jointly sponsor the PPCF/EPS/IUPAP Student Poster Prize at the EPS Plasma Physics conference. The competition is judged by members of the Conference Programme Committee. There is up to four prizes awarded to the winning posters. The competition is only open to PhD students.


  • Sophie Gorno (EPFL, Switzerland) for “Experiments and modelling to characterize the effect of connection length on power exhaust in TCV”,
    special mentions to Paul Heinrich (IPP-Garching, Germany) for “Analysis of shattered pellet injection in ASDEX Upgrade”, Lina Velarde (University of Seville, Spain) for “Effect of Edge Localized Modes and magnetic perturbations on fast ion confinement in MAST-U”; Paul Mulholland (TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands) for “Enhanced transport at high plasma beta due to subthreshold kinetic ballooning modes in Wendelstein 7-X geometry” and Alessandro Balestri (EPFL, Switzerland) for “Role of aspect ration in confinement enhancement in negative triangularity plasmas”
  • Radka Štefaníková (HZDR Dresden, Germany) for “Spatially resolved X-ray emission lines as a signature of electron dynamics in short-pulse solid-density laser-plasma interaction”,
  • Michael Nastac (Oxford University, UK) for “Irreversible stochastic heating via phase-space entropy cascade in nearly collisionless plasma turbulence”,
  • Swarnima Singh (Institute for Plasma Research, India) for “Experimental observation of a triple point for a complex (dusty) plasma”.


  • Bernardo Malaca (GoLP, IST Lisbon, Portugal) for “Superradiance from superluminal nonlinear plasma wakefields”,
  • Francis Pagaud (Laboratoire de Physique, ENS Lyon, France) for “Plasma potential control in a weakly magnetized plasma column using negatively-biased emissive electrode”,
  • Rui Torres (GoLP, IST Lisbon, Portugal) for “General relativistic particle-in-cell simulations of compact neutron star magnetospheres”, and
  • Nicholas Vivenzi (CNR, Univ. Padova, Italy) for “Non-linear visco-resistive MHD modelling of reversed field-pinch fusion plasmas: viscosity coefficient studies”.


  • Diego Jose Cruz-Zabala, University of Seville (Spain): “Characterization of edge poloidal impurity asymmetries at ASDEX Upgrade”
  • Samuele Mazzi, Université Aix-Marseille & CEA/IRFM (France): “Suppression of ion-scale turbulent transport by MeV-range fast ions at JET”
  • John Ryan Peterson, Stanford University & SLAC (USA): “Magnetic field amplification by a nonlinear pair-driven plasma instability”
  • Paula Kleij, LSI, Ecole Polytechnique & CEA/IRAMIS (France): “Ultra-short electron bunches from tunable surface plasma wave excitation by laser with wavefront rotation”
  • Vladislav Ivanov, Sofia University (Bulgaria): “Magnetically stabilized gliding arc discharge: a 2D model”
  • Camilla Willim, IST (Portugam): ” Target Normal Sheath Acceleration with shaped lasers”


  • Valeria Perseo, IPP Greifswald (Germany) “Carbon counter-streaming flow studies of attached and detached plasmas in the Wendelstein 7-X Island divertor”
  • Mirko Wensing, EPFL (Switzerland) “Drift effects in SOLPS-ITER sinulations for the TCV divertor upgrade”
  • Mariana Moreira, GoLP (Portugal) “A study of beam hosing in different regimes”
  • Mariia Timshina, IOFFE (Russia) “Analysis of initial stage of capillary discharge using numerical simulation”


  • Javier Rodrigo Pinzón Acosta (IPP and TUM, Germany) for a poster entitled “Experimental investigation of the mean turbulence structure tilt angle and its comparison with gyrokinetic simulations”
  • Viktor Schneider (Christian-Albrechts Univ., Germany) for “An optically trapped microparticle as plasma probe”
  • Meenarkshee Sharma (IPR, India) for “Study of propagation of ion acoustic soliton in multi-cusp plasma device”
  • Petr Valenta (ELI-Beamlines and CTU, Czech Republic) for “On high-quality electron beam generated by breaking wake wave in near-critical density plasmas”


  • Aaron Alejo (QUB) for a poster entitled “Stabilisation of radiation pressure driven ion acceleration from ultra-thin targets, studied by fast neutron spectroscopy”
  • Michael Griener (IPP) for a poster entitled “Implementation of fast line ratio spectroscopy on helium as plasma edge diagnostic at ASDEX Upgrade”
  • Giannandrea Inchingolo (IST) for a poster entitled “Large-scale PIC simulations of high β magnetorotational instability”
  • Axel Jardin (CEA/IRFM) for a poster entitled “Investigation of impurity cooling factor robustness against transport for application of GEM detectors to W core density reconstruction on WEST”


  • Arkaprava Bokshi (York University) for a poster entitled “The self-consistent response of linear micro-instabilities to profile evolution”
  • Mark Coughlan (QUB) for a poster entitled “Ultrafast dynamics of crystals irradiated by few-ps proton pulses”
  • Cristian Sommariva (CEA/IRFM) for a poster entitled “Modeling runaway electron dynamics in realistic fields from 3D non-linear MHD disruption simulations”
  • Hannah Willett (York University) for a poster entitled “The role of plasma instabilities in the onset of detachment in the York Linear Plasma Device”


  • M. Bailly-Grandvaux (CELIA, France) for a poster entitled “External magnetic field pinching effect on a relativistic electron beam in dense matter”
  • N. Bakharev (IOFFE, Russia) for a poster entitled “Modeling of the fast ion behavior in the Globus-M spherical tokamak”
  • S. Esponisa (PSFC-MIT, USA) for a poster entitled “Theoretical explanation for strong poloidal impurity asymmetry in tokamak pedestals”
  • L. Horvath (Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary) for a poster entitled “Fast changes in the mode structure of chirping energetic particle driven modes”


  • Alexandra Vallet (CELIA, France) for a poster entitled “Semi-analytic modelling of shock ignition”
  • Brendan Kettle (QUB, UK) for a poster entitled “XUV absorption of warm dense aluminium”
  • Livia Casali (IPP Garching, Germany) for a poster entitled “Transport analysis of high radiation and high density plasmas at ASDEX Upgrade”
  • Himank Anand (EPFL, Switzerland) for a poster entitled “First experimental results of plasma shape control using real time equilibrium reconstruction in TCV”


  • John Omotani (U. York, UK) for a poster entitled “Non-local parallel transport in the tokamak scrape-off layer”
  • Didier Vezinet (CEA/IRFM, France) for a poster entitled “Soft X-Ray cooling factor low dependency on transport: investigating the domain of validity”
  • Sina Fietz (IPP Garching, Germany) for a poster entitled “Interaction of neoclassical tearing modes with externally applied magnetic perturbations at ASDEX Upgrade”
  • Yevgen Kravets (U. Strathclyde, UK) for a poster entitled “Energy losses due to radiation reaction in an intense laser pulse”