Landau-Spitzer Award

The Landau-Spitzer Award on the Physics of Plasmas

The Landau-Spitzer Award on the Physics of Plasmas for “Outstanding contributions to plasma physics” is jointly sponsored by the Plasma Physics Divisions of the American Physical Society and the European Physical Society.

The Award is given to an individual or group of researchers for outstanding theoretical, experimental or technical contribution(s) in plasma physics and for advancing the collaboration and unity between Europe and the USA by joint research or research that advances knowledge which benefits the two communities in a unique way. The award may be given to a team or collaboration of up to four persons affiliated with either the European or US institutions.

The call for the 2018 award is open till March 8, 2018. More information here.

This year the award is intended for an early career researcher (in the first 10 years of their career following the award of a PhD). The winner/-s would be offered an invited talk at the 2018 APS DPP meeting.

The American Physical Society (APS) and the European Physical Society (EPS), through their respective Plasma Physics Divisions, will each contribute $2000 per prize.

Self-nominations are not accepted. Members of the APS Division of Plasma Physics Executive Committee or members of the EPS Plasma Physics Division Board are not eligible.

Award Statutes


Year Winner(s)
2016 John Berkery (Columbia University, USA), Steven Sabbagh (Columbia University, USA), Yueqiang Liu (CCFE, UK) and Holger Reimerdes (EPFL, CH) for their “seminal joint research providing key understanding and quantitative verification of global mode stability in experimental high performance tokamak plasmas, based on drift-kinetic MHD theory, and made possible by strong and essential partnership between Europe and the USA”

More information of the award recipients on the APS website.

2014 Manuel Garcia-Munoz (U. Seville, SP), Benedikt Geiger (IPP, DE), David C. Pace & Michael A. Van Zeeland (GA, USA) for the “greater understanding of energetic particle transport in tokamaks through collaborative research”
2012 Sergey I. Anisimov for outstanding contributions to plasma physics ranging from fundamental plasma theory to laboratory plasmas, controlled inertial fusion and astrophysical phenomena, particularly in the areas of laser interaction with plasma, plasma dynamics and stability, compressed matter and turbulence