Welcome to the web site of the Beam Plasma & Inertial Fusion (BP&IF) section of the Plasma Physics Division of the European Physical Society (EPS).

The section provides a forum for physicists working on plasma physics with high power beams. The focus is on beam plasma interaction, properties of dense plasmas and high-temperature hydrodynamic phenomena as well as applications to inertial fusion energy, to high-intensity sources of X-rays and nuclear radiation, to plasma-based particle accelerators, and related topics.

Elections have been conducted to renew its Board. The results are published on the page “Board” here.

The BPIF PPCF/EPS/IUPAP Student Poster Prize was awarded at the end of the 2018 EPS DPP conference to Petr Valenta (ELI-Beamlines) for a poster entitled “On high-quality electron beam generated by breaking wake wave in near-critical density plasmas”.

The second edition of the European Conference on Plasma Diagnostics (ECPD) was held in Bordeaux in April 2017. Best student posters were awarded to Michael Ehret (TU Darmstadt & U. Bordeaux) for “Proton probing of coil targets driven by ns or ps laser pulses” and to Xiaoyi Yang (Peking U.) for “Experimental test of the reconstruction method of the aser-driven ion-beam trace probe”. The 3rd edition will take in Lisbon (Portugal) from the 6th to the 10th of May, 2019; More information here.

The 2nd workshop of the COST action MP1208 on “Secondary sources of particles and radiation, Materials” was held in Belgrade in April 2016. More.

The 2017 Edouard Fabre prize, supported by the COST action MP1208, has been awarded at the Saint Malo IFSA2017 conference to Félicie Albert (LLNL) for “for her researches on the generation of novel sources of electrons, x-rays and gamma-rays through laser-plasma interaction, laser wakefield acceleration, and Compton scattering” and to Alexis Casner (CELIA) for “for his experimental studies on the highly nonlinear stage of the ablative Rayleigh Taylor instability in ICF targets and for his activity on laboratory turbulent plasmas in high-energy density conditions relevant for astrophysics”.

The 2016 Edouard Fabre prize, supported by the COST action MP1208, was awarded to Jérôme Faure (LOA) at the Leuven EPS Plasma Physics conference for “his remarkable experimental works in developing laser-plasma accelerators, demonstrating the possibility by interacting intense laser pulses with a gas target to accelerate electrons in extremely short distances and to produce high quality electron beam”. More.

The 2015 Edouard Fabre prize, supported by the COST action MP1208, was awarded to Pierre Michel (LLNL) at the Lisbon EPS Plasma Physics conference. More.